Skip to content

Celebrate National Rock Your Socks Day!

October 21, 2011

Okay, I’ll admit that I have had some pretty goofy ideas, thus the reason for this blog, but this one is not mine. The folks at littlemissmatched came up with this event. I love the idea so much that I am telling everyone. But wait, maybe I should start at the beginning. Who is littlemissmatched?

Littlemissmatched is a company that makes sock that don’t match. The best part is that you get three sock instead of two, allowing you to wear your mismatched socks in many different ways. Even though the sock don’t match they are coordinated.  It’s a guarantee that you will look awesome in your mismatched socks. So why did they create National Rock Your Socks Day?

This event is to encourage everyone to express their creativity. Their slogan is, “Ask not what your socks can do for you, but what you can do with your socks.” I love that. And it doesn’t have to be about socks. Maybe you want your socks to match, but you’re going to wear your hair in a totally new way. As long as it is creative it works. And now for the last question. This is a blog about being happy at the Disney parks; what does National Rock Your Socks Day have to do with Disney? I’m glad you asked.

The obvious answer is that the littlemissmatched stores can be found in Downtown Disney (that is where I do my shopping). It was at Downtown Disney that I discovered littlemissmatched. I got the point right away and have since then have bought many mismatched socks. But more importantly, Walt Disney believed we could all be creative. Lots of people told him Disneyland would never work, but he didn’t let their negativity, their matching socks, get in the way of his creative dreams. And that is what today is about, no naysayers. Everyone is creative and everyone should start using their creative dreams to make the world a happier place. Nothing is more Disney than that.

Goofy Tip #30: Littlemissmatched has Disney socks that don’t match!!! Wear them when you visit the parks and your outfit will be complete. Don’t forget to take a picture of you in your mismatched socks. Happiness squared!

No comments yet

Leave a comment